I was kind of hoping to find something apparent and useful.  I wouldn’t really say I did.  So the premise here is that K4 was ciphered, the letters KRYPTOS were added and the complex was transposed thereby obfuscating the ciphertext as well as giving us a key to reverse the masking technique.

I set out to try and find a way to reverse the process.  My idea was to measure relative distances and see if there was a regular distance between the letters KRYPTOS in K4.  Unfortunately for us there are multiples of each letter: K(7), R(4), Y(1), P(3), T(6), O(5), S(6).  This means that one would basically need to calculate the distances for each possible iteration out of the possible 15, 120.  Terribly boring and while I started, I rapidly quit in favor of working smarter not harder.  See, there’s only 1 Y in K4.  Distances can be measured relative to the Y and if a regular pattern emerges then hooray!

So if X is one of the other 6 letters and Y is, well, Y… then the equation X-Y=D with D being the,  relative distance.  The plus or minus sign doesn’t really matter quantitatively, it’s just the direction of the vector.

I also thought it would be nice to figure both ways in case the text wraps left or right.  Simply calculate 97-D=D2 for the reverse direction.

Long story short, I couldn’t get a regular or any kind of pattern.  The best I got was a similar distancing.

OBKR
UOXOGHULBSOLIFBBWFLRVQQ p r NGK s s o
t WTQSJQSSEKZZWATJKLUDIAWINFBN y P
VTTMZFPKWGDKZXTJCDIGKUHUAUE k CAR

The two S’s are similar distances.  The similarities are that these letters are within 30-37 letters of Y the closest way and between 60-68 the long way.

Still working on it.

Kryptosfan

