Is there a K5 in Kryptos?  TitusGroan raised a valid point.  He made the statement: “I think the notion of K5 is a sly bit of misdirection on the part of the sculptor.” and clarified with: “Actually, I think if you re-read his statements carefully over the years, he never does promise it. Journalists and fans have imputed it from his statements.” (from Comments)

So, whether Sanborn ever actually states it himself is a reasonable question.  I never kept track but I vaguely thought he had.  I recently spent some time trying to find some quotes or sources to cite.

_

Maybe yes, maybe no.

“Once the plate is deciphered I’m not convinced the true meaning will be clear even then. There’s another deeper mystery.” – Sanborn

_

Confirmation of a sorts by Ed:

“There may be more to the puzzle than what you see,” Scheidt says. “Just because you broke it doesn’t mean you have the answer.”Perhaps K5 is a misnomer.  Perhaps there’s more of a classical riddle left at the end.  Maybe it’s just a puzzle to tease out the overall message.  I would lean towards a riddle not a cipher and given the following paraphrasing from NPR’s 2005 broadcast would think there is something that can be culled out after K4 is solved.

_

_
_
It is indeed hard to nail him down to a concrete declaration but it seems like there was at least a plan for a riddle covering all of the plaintext.  I would say that another cipher in the traditional sense is unlikely.  I’m not naive enough to claim that I know what will be after K4 but I feel confident enough to say there is in fact something waiting for us beyond K4 – however uncertain we are of what it will actually be.
