Kryptos

For Kryptos, I’m almost done (actually, I’m done now) re-engineering a possible key to Bifid on K4 that will give “Berlin” in the proper orientation (it did), turns out I had a couple letters wrong for some reason (strange, right?) when I set out on what I thought would be a relatively quick process of elimination.  Instead of random ass posts (unlike this one), I’ll just keep updating on this page and on Twitter until I finally get it sorted out.  The problem I’m having right now is orienting the L and I since I is both in the plaintext and in the coordinate ciphertext (fixed serendipitously or close to accidentally).  By all means feel free to step in and finish it off for me (the rest of it anyway).  If it works then fantastic, I’ll submit my 10 letters and then post the solution here and there (MOGDORIFSU doesn’t really count).  If not, at least we’ll be able to close the door permanently on Bifid (probably but not yet anyways).

My favorite so far is SREBLUGFHIJKAONMQPTDWVYXCZ because it gives MORDOR at the beginning and “BERLLN” at the right spot.

More practically (and recently), VSEBIRGFHLJMAONKQPTCUWYXDZ gives MOSCOW at the beginning but isn’t perfect yet because it gives “derihn" so far, which is still not bad with 3 letters in the right spot.

RGFBISUEHLJKAONMQPTDWVYXCZ gives “BERLIN” in the appropriate spot.  The message however, reads: MOGDORIFSUMAYNNKIEUDLSLXBQERNOHZGCGMRDFDTXIMLVFBYFQBWRPHBFKWILOberlinNDKWVPOQGUGBYPFUGUGEOKICXYVQ

I’ll fiddle-fart around with it and see if I can get something to pop up out of the output text.

More to come as it happens… (unless I get the whole thing solved, I’ll just keep tweeting fun variations, I think I’ve posted enough here for now)

Kryptosfan


