Observations:  Morse code, K1, K2, K3 solved without any clues or keywords and virtually independent of each other.  This is due to well-developed cryptanalytic methods that render their ciphers vulnerable.  In WWII there might be multiple messages encoded by the same cryptosystem but they would still be stand-alone ciphertexts nonreliant upon external clues.  In Kryptos there has been a lot of speculation and about a bajillion people shrieking that they’ve found the clues that everyone has been ignoring but still K4 is unsolved.

Postulate:  We’d be better off trying to solve K4 by isolating it from Sanborn’s ambiguous plaintext.

Ramifications:  By approaching it from a historically consistent perspective we could remove quite a bit of the confusion and bad analysis.

Potential Pitfalls:  Many have suggested the possibility that K4 requires the use of other portions of Kryptos text, by removing these from analysis we would face the risk of not being able to solve it.

Addressing Pitfalls:  Despite many claims to the contrary, the other texts of Kryptos haven’t assisted anyone in completing a solution of K4 that has passed muster.  This devolves the argument to a me vs. you situation with both sides having equal claims.

I expect that Jim thinks he’s left us a bunch of hints and clues and I know many folks who have found enough clues to occupy them for the rest of their efforts on Kryptos.  I also know that I, personally, find the texts to be interesting but mostly useless so far.  Yes, I know this is blasphemy.  I’m the same person who could never see the pictures in those dot-pictures that you were supposed to relax your eyes to see.  Maybe the two are connected, if I could just relax my brain…

I just figured this was a weirdly practical thing to suggest and wanted to post it for posterity.

Kryptosfan

