Until I’ve had the chance to brush up on some statistics, I’ve decided on a different strategy.

I don’t see the point in there being a double transposition or a really hard transposition tied in with a polygraphic substitution and locked with 7 non-ciphertext letters.

It’s a bit of a leap to say that is a likely method alone.

By itself, I’d imagine it’s hard enough, a simple diffusing transposition would break up the digraphs just fine.

So in parallel with my efforts to self-educate, I think I’ll start building a list of K4 versions (different than what I’ve already done) where it is some form of K4 after an attempt to reverse a transposition.  For example, I could read off by columns instead of rows.

It’ll fill the time while I’m learning in some kind of constructive manner.

Why do I need to bother?

There’s 8 K’s alone.  There’s no guarantee I’ll remove the right KRYPTOS letters even if I’m reallly, really sure I know the right ones.  I’ll take off the most likely and then twist and turn the text.  Hopefully I can decipher a partial section and that will then help elucidate the rest.

If it doesn’t work then at least I’ll have tried.

Kryptosfan

