I think that in lieu of substitution software for the languages, it is fruitless to attempt manual substitutions any further.  I have gone back and adjusted the K4 text on each page to indicate the letters that Italian, Latin and Portuguese do not share of the 26 A-Z.  I will wait patiently and see if anyone discovers or creates an international cryptogram solver.  Otherwise this idea will remain on the shelf.

As far as attempts at the K4 Message Contest, I still think it’s a worthy intellectual effort.  We spend so much time trying to find the message that sometimes we can forget to try and think about what it is we’re looking for.  I’ve tried fitting various words (in various languages) into the K4 framework but it either makes it seemingly impossible to spell anything else or leaves it too open for many other words.  In truth, given Sanborn’s predilections, it could be impossible to guess what he actually wrote.  It doesn’t mean we shouldn’t formulate an idea of what he could or should have written.

I think I will take some time to comb through what is known and try and arrange it in some logical manner.  Hopefully it will spark some new inspiration to try something that perhaps has not yet been attempted.  If nothing else, we can keep trying.

It is solvable.  There is a method and a solution.  My prediction is that there will be disappointment and groaning when we find out what it was.  It will either be a situation of, “Really, how in the hell were we supposed to know to try that?” or “I actually tried that one but couldn’t get it to work so I stopped trying.” or “That’s just dumb!”.  We’ve built the hype and put it on such a high pedestal that the actual solution and message could never match expectations no matter how awesome Sanborn actually made it.  He’s up against 20 years of human nature.

I’m not going to say maybe it’s better we leave it unknown.

Kryptos Fan

