Yeah yeah, I know it’s a bad idea to put stuff online because anyone can come and steal your ideas and then they get the nerd crown for 2009 because they solved Kryptos and blah blah blah.

I could also be absolutely crazy and off the right track and we all know that crazy folks usually don’t know they’re crazy.

So here’s an idea I had about how to use null ciphers in plain or ciphertext.  I call it The Every-Other Null Cipher.  I came up with it during my frustration that there are not many in-text steganography methods described online or in books.  It’s a pretty simple yet effect tool to mask any text you want.  It’s more powerful when used in combination with a more standard substitution cipher or transposition cipher.  As with any steganography method, once you know it’s there then you tend to lose any protection but it is still enough and simple enough to potentially thwart a cryptoanalyist without an imagination.

I gave it’s own page, obviously, but I’ll tease you with my initial results.  Keep in mind, you may want to try repeating what I did just to check the hypothesis.

Starting with the O:
YH EMBERY PROVING BAYOND ALSO THE POUR WITSKOFSTJPHQZLJG
Possible real plaintext:
“blah Embery proving beyond also the four blah”

Starting with the B:
YOU UNDEDLY LOCAPIERRECEIVFHDTFWL PARK LIMIGHTM XXXI F
Possible real plaintext:
“You undoubtedly/undecidedly locate/located Pierre/Received blah park limit blah XXXI

A refined method may yield better results.  I go now to work the little grey cells.

Kryptos Fan

