I tried today to “find” the keywords in the morse code (at least retrieve palimpsest and abcissa) but was unable to do so. If I was the so-called operator in the field, it would be a message to me and it would make sense due to my training. I’m a -redacted  so I’m not sure I have the sort of background that would make the answer obvious. I’m not saying it’s impossible but it’s kind of like trying to understand an inside joke between two other people.

I’ve also thought about it and the likelihood of KRYPTOS being a key for a foursquare is likely and due to it being the first keyword in the Vigenere ciphers, I think it’s likely that it is in C1. The other keyword is likely to be 6-10 letters long. Anything longer would be too hard and anything too small would be less secure. I think it’s possible to at least attempt a brute force on K4 with a Kryptos/null foursquare just to see if anything intelligible comes out. If we can read enough of the text then it will help isolate the keyword.

That and I’ve decided to educate myself on cryptology. I’ve been getting some here and there but it’s been all over the place. A couple books from the ole bookstore and a little searching and some practice ought to bring me up to speed.

It’s not hopeless, Kryptos was meant to be hard but definitely meant to be solved.

I also looked around a little more online and must confess I was wrong and have slandered my fellow web users. There are a lot of sites about Kryptos solutions, especially attempts at K4 solutions, it’s just that a lot of them are absolutely crazy and nuttier than squirrel poop.

I can only hope to keep my attempts within reason and learn from the example of others that it’s very easy to spend a huge amount of time on attempts that will never work. This is a valuable lesson I don’t intend to forget. If an idea fails to yield something tangible then a deadline must be set and a boundary placed on the expenditure of time and resources devoted to attempting it.

Kryptos Fan

