Kryptos Cipher Wheel

An attempt to solve K4

An attempt to solve K4

So I did a little art project to see if you could align the rows of K4 in a series of rings and “dial” an answer to K4. It’s possible to align them to where they do indeed show the word “KRYPTOS” but no words or phrases stand out that aren’t likely to be accidental pairings like “of” or “in”. It’s possible that my little wheel emulates the rules for aligning K4 without actually giving the solution. I’m still fairly firmly convinced that it’s not a substitution or a transposition; at least not an easy one. I could be wrong so I posted the tables in case someone got a wild urge to check them.

If you want to see more of the wheel itself, click here.

For now, I plan on continuing my education with the Army manual and trying everything I can think of…

Looking at K4, I don’t see any repetition of 2 or 3 letter segments. I do however see an unusual number of duplicate letters: BB, QQ, SS, SS, ZZ, TT. I’m not sure if it’s relevant.

Still pondering…

Kryptos Fan

